top of page

A day of preparation


A month of my internship already flew by like seconds that I can easily count. I am surrounded by young motivated people that are also pushing me aswell to improve. Surprisingly enough everyone from the kitchen staff speaks acceptable English, so there is no problem with communication. I already feel this new environment like a family since I can freely speak with every of my colleagues.

As I start my day in the restaurant my eyes land on the pile of cherry tomatoes I have to poke, simmer and peel for the upcomming banquet of 200 people that will take place in April the royal palace in Venaria where my restaurant is placed. After this task I proceed to complete the mise en place for the banquet's starter which is making small circles of aubergine that we place the dried cherry tomatoes on before putting them in the oven. Next task on my list is to form meatballs for the staff's dinner. Followed by peeling boiled eggs and combining them with tuna and white wine vinegar, creating a paste used for filling one of the restaurant's starters called ''Tonnato'' which is a thin slice of pink beef filled with this paste called ''Tonnata'' and with some minced capers. All of these beef rolls are put in a long plate and different salads are put inbetween them. We have no customers for dinner so we clean up and leave the restaurant.


bottom of page