top of page

Shift in positions and responsibilites


The beast itself

Buongiorno , visitors. As another week has passed by like a moment the new person i've been guiding for his chef de partie position has been approved so now my role became more of a supporter. I take care of every MEP needed during the service including veggies, corn pureé, horseradish, leak, broccoli and celeriac sauces. And now I am completely responsible for a couple of dishes such as the beef cheeks , the bollito misto and the octopus with corn and capers. However I do help with elements of plating for all of the dishes in the second plate of the main course. This week has been quite the rollercoaster of emotions as I conquered a fear of mine and overcame my prejudice. I do have a fear of snakes and I don't really enjoy the smell and texture of fish and i defeated both of those flaws by cleaning eels. While not paying attention to the smell I had to ignore the rigor mortis and keep repeating to myself that there is no way these creatures are alive even though being dead they moved way much more than when they were alive. Cutting their head was the most bizzare experience i've had in a while because the heart is located there and even with the head chopped off the heart kept beating for solid 40 minutes on its own. This was the highlight of my week, make sure to check the next one to see how the banquet went.


bottom of page